• [Media Release] K-ETA NOT Required for Entry to South Korea for 22 Countries

        • 03/31/2023


  • K-ETA NOT Required for Entry to South Korea for 22 Countries

    Australian and New Zealand passport holders do NOT need to apply for Korea’s Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA) when travelling to South Korea between 1 April, 2023 and 31 December, 2024 (Korean Standard Time). 22 countries are temporarily exempt out of the 110 visa-free countries typically required to have K-ETA when entering South Korea. 

    The change was made in celebration of Visit Korea Year 2023-2024, a Korean Government initiative to attract more tourists to South Korea. 

    For nationals of countries that are not exempt, K-ETA must be applied for online at least 72 hours prior to departure to South Korea and approved ahead of travel. The cost is 10,000 Korean Won (approximately AUD$12) per person. Nationals from the exempted countries that have or still choose to apply for K-ETA are able to pass through immigration without having to submit an arrival card.  

    Existing K-ETAs will be valid until their original expiration date two years after issuance and refunds will not be issued. 

    The full list of 22 countries temporarily exempt from K-ETA are: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Macao, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, UK, US (including Guam). 

    For the latest updates on K-ETA visit bit.ly/KETAnews 

    For more information on Visit Korea Year 2023-2024 go to visitkoreayear.kr

    For more media information contact Ryan Archibald - [email protected] /+61 481 131 252

1330 Helpline Chat


Open 1330 Helpline Chat(Download not required)

temp1 temp1
Open messenger app(Messenger app must be installed)