goto content

  • sitemap
  • sign up
  • my page
  • visitkorea on Facebook
  • visitkorea on Twitter
  • visitkorea on YouTube
  • visitkorea on RSS

Korea Banner (Left)

Demographics print

Capital Pyeongyang (Special District)
Area 122,762
Climate Average temperature: 9.3 , Average rainfall: 826
Population about 22,600,000 (2002)
Per Capita GDP $706 (2002)
4 cities (under special district control),
9 provinces, 24 cities and 145 districts
A Republic : the Supreme People's Assembly is the governing legislative branch
Agriculture/Fishing 30.4%,
Mining and Manufacturing 26%,
Service 31.8%,
Construction 7%,
Utilities 4.8% (2001)
International Airport
Pyeongyang International Airport
East coast (Cheongjin, Heungnam, Wonsan)
West coast (Nampo, Songrim, Haeju)

Major Cities Pyeongyang, Nampo, Gaeseong, Weonsan, Hamheung, Sinuiju

National Holidays

New Year

Lunar New Year
(Lunar 1.1)

First Full Moon
(Lunar 1.15)

Jeongil Kim's Birthday

Ilseong Kim's Birthday

Founding of the Korean People's Army

National Labor Day

(Lunar 5.5)

Independence War
Victory Day

Independence Day

Harvest Moon Festival
(Lunar 8.15)

Founding of the DPRK

Founding of the Korean Workers' Party

Constitution Day


Tools made of animal bones from the Paleolithic era were unearthed in North Korea's Sangwon, Deokcheon, and Unggi areas and earthenware from the Neolithic era were discovered in Pyeongyang, Uiju, and Musan. The land which is currently occupied by North Korea was once Gojoseon (2333 B.C.~108 A.D.), the first nation of the Korean peninsula. Near Pyeongyang and Mt. Guweolsan, the Bipahyeongdonggum Sword, an artifact from that era, was discovered. During the age of the three kingdoms (57 B.C.~668 A.D.) in year 427, Goguryeo (one of the three kingdoms) moved its capital from Guknaeseong in the Aprokgang River area to Pyeongyang. Afterwards, the Shilla nation (another one of the three kingdoms) conquered and united the three kingdoms and formed Tongil-Shilla (676-935). During the Goryeo Dynasty (918-1392), which covered all of South Korea and much of current North Korea, Gaeseong was its capital city- it was also during this era that the arts (the Goryeo Celadon is an excellent example) and trade flourished. During the Joseon (1392-1910) era, active militia movements took place in Mt. Myohyangsan, Gaeseong, Pyeongyang, and the Geumgangsan Diamond Mountains in response to the Japanese Invasion. After being liberated from the Japanese Occupation (1910-1945) August 15th of 1945, the nation was divided into North and South Korea by the 6.25 War of 1950. North Korea adopted a socialist form of government due to influences from the Soviet Union, and in September 9th of 1948, founded the Democratic People's Republic of Korea.

Quick Menu Quick Menu