goto content


Korea Banner (Left)


Gyeongsangbuk-do » Andong-si » Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)

print

Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)   
Andong Gunja Village...
Andong Gunja Village...
prev  
  • Andong Gunja Village...
  • Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)
  • Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)
  • Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)
  • Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)
  • Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)
  • Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)
  • Andong Gunja Village (Historic Site of Ocheon) (안동 군자마을(오천유적지)
next
view pictures
Address
29, Gunjari-gil, Waryong-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
경상북도 안동시 와룡면 군자리길 29
Type
Folk Villages
Inquiries
• 1330 tt call center: +82-54-1330
(Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
• For more info: +82-54-852-5414, +82-16-715-2177 (Korean)
Homepage
www.gunjari.net
(Korean only)
Introduction
The Ye-an branch of the Gwangsan Kim clan’s founder, Sir Hyo-ro Kim created this village Descendents of the family have resided in the village ever since. In 1974, when the Andong Dam was constructed, the village was moved from Ye-an Myeon, Andong to Waryong Myeon, Andong in its original form. Located between these two points are the designated national cultural heritage sites of Takcheongjeong Pavilion and Hujodang Annexed House.
On display at the Sungwongak Pavilion Exhibition Hall are rare archives from the family’s history. Some of these documents on display include family records, estate documents and servant records. Among these writings, there are 7 varieties of ancient writings showing up in 429 pieces. There are also 13 varieties showing up in 61 records that are designated treasures.

Takcheongjeong Pavilion
The pavilion was constructed in 1541 by the Ye-an branch of the head of Gwangsan Kim clan. The pavilion is unique from others in that it is rather stately. It remains a highly treasured and important cultural landmark. During the Joseon Dynasty, noted calligrapher Ho Han named the pavilion 'Takcheongjeong.'

Hujodang Annexed living quarters
This house belongs to the head residence of the Ye-an branch of the Gwangsan Kim clan. The exact age of the house in unknown but it was built by Bupil Kim who lived from 1516~1577. This structure was built separately from the main house. The annexed living quarters were divided into interior and exterior areas. The exterior quarters were used for the male head of the household as a place for relaxation or social gatherings. The interior quarters were used as a place for elderly women or girls of marriage age to stay. Hujodang Annexed living quarters were exterior quarters.
Activity Information
- Gunja (classical scholar) experience program: Clothing, etiquette, Seodang (village school), traditional folk games
- Traditional old house accommodation experience programs: Hujodang, Hujodang Sarangchae, Eupcheongjeong, Sannamjeong
- Other experience programs: Cultural asset preservation, Kkolttameokgi (traditional play), farming experience, hanging geumjul (straw rope)

* Experience programs are open to groups of 30 or more people.
* Discounts will apply to additional experience programs.
* Inquiries +82-54-859-0825

 

Operating Hours
24 hrs
Admission Fees
Free
Reservation Info. for Foreigners
Reservation is required for groups of 10 people or more.
Directions

From Dong Seoul Bus Terminal (Gangbyeon station, Subway Line 2).
Take an intercity bus to Andong.


From Andong Intercity Bus Terminal, take bus 67.
(As there are not many formal bus stops, tell the driver your destination in advance)
OR
Take a taxi to Andong Gunja Village (30min).

Related Tour Packages

Data not found



Quick Menu Quick Menu

Reservation