|Jukseoru Pavilion (삼척 죽서루)|
|Jukseoru Pavilion, estimated to have been built around 1266, is one of the eight major attractions of Gwandong District in middle eastern Korea collectively known as Gwandong Palgyeong (eight famous sites). Sitting on the edge of a cliff overlooking Osipcheon Stream, the pavilion incorporates the rocks on the cliff as cornerstones, with a five-girder paljak (ancient-style roof).
Then, there are 26 signboards hanging from the rafters of the pavilion. The signboards contain inscriptions of famous ancient scholars such as 'Jeilgyeongjeong' ('The best riverside pavilion'; 1662) by Heo Mok, 'Jukseoru' and 'Gwandong Jeilru' ('The best pavilion in Gwandong'; 1711) by Yi Seong-jo, and 'Haeseon Yuhui Jiso' ('The place that marine gods enjoy'; 1837) by Yi Gyu-heon. Others who have left their mark include King Sukjong (1674-1720), King Jeongjo (1776-1800) and Yulgok YiYi (1536-1584). Evidently, Jukseoru Pavilion has served as an inspiration since its establishment, and continues to inspire visitors today through the stunning view of its surrounding nature.
|Treasure No. 213 (as of January 21,1963)|
* Last admission: 30min before closing.
|Facilities for the Handicapped|
|Wheelchair ramp, restrooms|
|Interpretation Services Offered|
|Cultural interpretation services available (English)
* Advanced reservations required.
Bus Terminal, walk 10-15min to Jukseoru Pavilion (죽서루).
OR, from Samcheok Station, take a taxi to Jukseoru Pavilion (죽서루, 10min).