Thu, Aug 11, 2022, 11:43 KST (UTC+9)  Seoul  Korea

imagine your korea

Regional Guide

Destinations by Region

Palgongsan Natural Park (Gatbawi District) (팔공산자연공원(갓바위지구))

  • Palgongsan Natural Park (Gatbawi District) (팔공산자연공원(갓바위지구))
  • Palgongsan Natural Park (Gatbawi District) (팔공산자연공원(갓바위지구))
  • Palgongsan Natural Park (Gatbawi District) (팔공산자연공원(갓바위지구))
  • Palgongsan Natural Park (Gatbawi District) (팔공산자연공원(갓바위지구))
  • Address 229, Gatbawi-ro, Dong-gu, Daegu
    대구광역시 동구 팔공산로199길 6-1
  • Type Mountains
  • Inquiries • 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330
    (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
    • For more info: +82-53-939-0080
  • Information
    Palgongsan Natural Park is located close to Palgongsan Mountain, one of the larger mountains in the Taebaek mountain range. Palgongsan Mountain is located 20 kilometers northeast from downtown Daegu, where Nakdonggang River and Geumhogang River meet. The mountain has three peaks in a row: Birobong Peak in the center and Dongbong (aka Mitabong, 1,155 meters) and Seobong (aka Samseongbong, 1,150 meters) on each side.

    The park is within the administrative district of Dong-gu, Daegu and has four towns along its border including Yeongcheon-si, Gyeongsan-si, and Chilgok-gun. A number of Buddhist temples including Donghwasa, the headquarters of the 9th Buddhist Parish, are located in the area.

    The park has numerous rocks and valleys and is carpeted with azaleas in spring. In autumn many visitors flock to the park to admire the falls leaves on the trees lining the 16.3-kilometer-long road that runs through the park. With vibrant green leaves in spring and a delicate snowscape in winter, Palgongsan Mountain is an attractive destination for visitors throughout the year.

    Mountain Not Access Period
    Annual Forest Fire Prevention Period
    Spring: February 15 - May 15 / Autumn: November 1 - December 15
    * Subject to change based on weather conditions

    Hiking Course
    [Course 1] Gatbawi service area - Gwanamsa Temple - Gatbawi Rock
    [Course 2] Gatbawi service area - Gatbawi Rock - Inbong Peak - Dongbong Peak - Donghwasa Temple

    Parking Facilities

    Available Facilities
    Gatbawi service area


  • Forecast
  • Tourist Sites
  • Accommodation
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping
  • Transportation

VisitKorea does not guarantee the quality of products or services introduced on its site and is not responsible for any direct or indirect losses resulting from use of said products or services.

Make an inquiryff

1330 Travel Hotline Live Chat

Open KTO Live Chat(Download not required)

Open messenger app(Messenger app must be installed)