Tourist Trains

Tourist Trains

【 Photo: Sea Train (Credit: Korail) 】

The Korea Railroad Co., better known as Korail, provides a multitude of special tourist train to facilitate regional travel. Among these, the most popular are the Central Inland Region Train (O-Train), Baekdudaegan Mountain Range Canyon Train (V-Train), and the Sea Train traveling along the eastern coast. Read on to learn about these great travel options.

Central Inland Region Tourist Train (O-Train) LINK

【 Photo: O-Train (Top & bottom left credit: Korail) 】

The O-Train derives its name from the word "One," as the three provinces (Gangwon-do, Chungcheongbuk-do, Gyeongsangbuk-do) in the country's central inland region are connected by this single circular route. The train was designed with the theme of four picturesque seasons of Baekdudaegan Mountain Range, Korea's grandest mountain range. This four-cabin train consists of two Eco cabins, a cabin for people with disabilities and a snack bar, and a cabin for families. The train includes individual seating (2-person & 4-person sets), as well as separate seating options for families and couples to accommodate the needs of diverse passengers. There are also individual observatory seats for people traveling on their own. The train is well equipped with various themed seats and convenient amenities such as electrical outlets installed on each seat for charging electronic devices, monitors showing a live footage of the running train, a café, toilets, and more.

Course (Train stops): Seoul → Yeongdeungpo → Suwon → Cheonan → Osong → Cheongju → Chungju → Jecheon – Danyang → Punggi → Yeongju → Bonghwa → Chunyang → Buncheon → Yangwon → Seungbu → Cheoram

Baekdudaegan Mountain Range Canyon Train (V-Train) LINK

【 Photo: V-Train 】

The ‘V’ in V-Train stands for "valley," as it travels through the beautiful valley of Cheoram in Gangwon-do as well as Buncheon and Yangwon in Gyeongsangbuk-do. Riding on the V-Train is especially refreshing as the windows can be opened to feel the breeze. Traveling at a leisurely speed that is slower than regular trains, passengers can easily enjoy the changing views of the mountains and valley. The V-Train consists of three cabins made up of two observatory cabins and an observatory cabin with a mini café. This train was designed as an eco-friendly train and has no restrooms installed.

Course (Train stops): (Yeongju) → (Bonghwa) → (Chungyang) → Buncheon → Bidong → Yangwon → Seungbu → Cheoram

Morning train (08:50-11:01) stops indicated inside the parenthesis.

O-Train & V-Train
  • Purchasing tickets: Online through the Let's Korail website and on-site at stations along the course

    The Korail Pass (online reservations & on-site purchase) is recommended as it grants unlimited access to the O-Train & V-Train, as well as other tourist trains including A-Train, S-Train, DMZ Peace Train, and West Gold Train for a designated time period.

    O-Train does not operate on Mondays; V-Train does not operate on Mondays & Tuesdays

    Operating days are subject to change; refer to the Let's Korail website for updates

  • Fares (One-way):
    • O-Train
      Seoul ↔ Jecheon: Adults 27,300 won / Children 15,400 won
      Seoul ↔ Yeongju: Adults 34,000 won / Children 19,200 won
      Seoul ↔ Buncheon: Adults 40,400 won / Children 22,800 won
      Seoul ↔ Cheoram: Adults 43,400 won / Children 24,500 won
    • V-Train
      Yeongju ↔ Cheoram: Adults 11,700 won / Children 7,600 won
      Buncheon ↔ Cheoram: Adults 8,400 won / Children 6,000 won

    Adults (ages 13 & over) / Children (ages 6-12)

    Free for preschoolers (under age 6)

  • Inquiries: +82-1544-7788 (Korean only), +82-1599-7777 (English, Japanese, Chinese)

Sea Train LINK

【 Photo: Sea Train interior (Credit: Korail) 】

The Sea Train is composed of four cars: two first-class cars, one economy car, and one family car. The first and the second cars make up the two first-class cars, one with individual seats and the other equipped with couple seats facing the window. The third car has table seats designed for families and a cafeteria. The last car is mainly for accommodating group travelers with seats for two or three people. The train ride takes about 1 hour and 20 minutes for a one-way trip and 3 hours for a round trip.

In addition to the refreshing ocean views through the wide windows, Sea Train offers much more. The first and second cars include Proposal Rooms for couples where they can enjoy a glass of wine during their romantic ride along the ocean shore. The third car is equipped with Sea Train Café, where passengers can purchase a cup of coffee, light snacks, and even local products from the eastern coast region. The interior of the train is decorated in an undersea motif with images of diverse marine animals, serving as a perfect backdrop for memorable photos.

Course (Train stops): Gangneung – Jeongdongjin – Mukho – Donghae – Chuam – Samcheok Haebyeon

Sea Train
  • Purchasing tickets: On-site purchase at Gangneung or Samcheok Haebyeon Station

    Ticket purchase at other train stops available in the case of open seats upon phone inquiry (Purchase tickets from staff after boarding)

    Foreigners can make a reservation via phone call

    No operation from December 30 to 31, 2019 due to maintenance

  • Fares (One-way)
    • Car 1 • 2 (First-class): Adults 16,000 won / Children 14,400 won
    • Car 3 Family seat (4 people): 52,000 won
    • Car 4 (General seating): Adults 14,000 won / Children 12,600 won
    • Propose Room (2 people): 50,000 won

    Adults (ages 13 & over) / Children (ages 4-12)

    Children must present their ID with date of birth to receive children discount

  • Train departure time
    • Gangneung → Samcheok Haebyeon: Regular train 10:10, 13:42 / Temporary weekend train 06:52
    • Samcheok Haebyeon → Gangneung: Regular train 11:45, 15:28 / Temporary weekend train 08:29

    Approx. 1 hour & 10 minutes for one-way / 2 hours & 40 minutes for roundtrip

    Operating schedule subject to change; call Korail and inquire in advance

  • Inquiries: +82-33-573-5474 (Korean, English, Japanese)

    Assistance in foreign language may not be available depending on staff schedule

More info
  • Korail website: (English, Japanese, Chinese)

    Train schedule changes each month; refer to the Let's Korail website for the latest information

  • Korail Pass page: (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese, French, Spanish, German, Russian)
  • Sea Train website: (Korean only)
  • 1330 Korea Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330 (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese, Russian, Vietnamese, Thai, Malay)

This page was last updated on December 2, 2019, and therefore information may differ from what is presented here. We advise you to check details before visiting.